10 Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me About Love In My 20s

Thought Catalog

Maya Kruchankova / (Shutterstock.com) Maya Kruchankova / (Shutterstock.com)

WARNING: This is a very Debbie Downer list, but if it speaks to even one person and it helps them adjust their expectations even the tiniest bit, I will be ecstatic.

1. Love is not a fairy tale.

Romance novels, chick flicks, rom-coms, and fairy tales exist not because their stories are within the realm of possibility. They exist because we WISH they would happen and we WISH that life was that simple. I was terribly naïve when I was younger; I believed that those stories existed because they were the gold standard of relationships and that if I had any self-respect I would hold out for my knight in shining armor.

2. Your lover is not a mind-reader.

Your significant other cannot read your mind and may be unable to pick up the thread of what you are hinting at, even if YOU…

View original post 943 more words

Leave a Reply

